The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and Efficiency

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and Efficiency

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and Efficiency

In short: the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standards are the uniform standards indicating the efficiency classes for electric motors. In 1999, the ECU Commission established different efficiency classes for electric motors. They did this to scale back energy consumption and to make awareness of the importance of a more sustainable environment among various industries. These efficiency classes were called the EFF standards. However, the US established the NEMA standards for electric motors, which differed tons from the EU standards. to beat the international inconsistencies in regulations, the EFF standards changed to the present IEC standards for electric motors.



Since 2014, the facility range was extended for electric motors and was set between 0,12 kW and 1000 kW. Moreover, electric motors with a rated output of 0,75-375 kW must meet either IE3 efficiency or IE2 if fitted with VSD’s since 2017. The IEC standards were established in 2008, they’re classified as E1, IE2, IE3, IE4 and IE5.


IE1 – Standard Efficiency Class:

Motors that fall within the EI1 efficiency class have the subsequent specifications:

  • Output is 0.75kW to 355kW.
  • Poles are 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12.
  • Speed range is from 500rpm to 3600rpm.
  • RPM frequency is 50Hz or 60Hz.
  • Temperature class is B class.
  • Insulation class is class F.
  • Protection technology used is IP55, IP56, IP65, IP66.




IEC created a typical for indicating the efficiency classes of electrical motors. Some countries use other efficiency standards. In many cases, the IEC efficiency levels overlap with these standards. Efficiency standards allow manufacturers and purchasers of electrical motors to quantify efficiency, whether defined by IEC, NEMA or the other agency.



  • Single-speed electric motors (single and three-phase), 50 and 60 Hz
  • Line-start permanent magnet motors
  • 2, 4, 6 or 8 poles
  • Rated output PN from 0.12 kW to 1000 kW
  • Rated voltage UN above 50 V up to 1 kV
  • Motors, capable of continuous operation at their rated power with a temperature rise within the required insulation temperature class
  • Motors designed to work wholly immersed during a liquid
  • Brake motors, when the brake can’t be dismantled or separately fed.
  • Single-speed motors with 10 or more poles or multi-speed motors
  • Motors completely integrated into a machine (for example, pump, fan or compressor) that can’t be tested separately from the machine.
  • Motors specifically designed to operate:
  • At altitudes exceeding 4000 meters (over 13.000 feet)
  • Where ambient air temperatures exceed 60°C
  • In maximum operating temperatures above 400°C.
  • Where ambient air temperatures are but –30°C (any motor) or but 0°C (water-cooled motors)
  • Where the water coolant temperature at the inlet to a product is a smaller amount than 0°C or exceeds 32°C
  • In potentially explosive atmospheres as defined in Directive 94/9/EC


The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and Efficiency Classes- Movement towards Sustainable Energy is a summary of the IEC work on sustainable energy efficiency. This article summarizes how many organizations are working to reduce our reliance on fossil fuels, improve quality of life for everyone with cleaner air and better health outcomes, while reducing greenhouse gas emissions in order to help keep global temperatures from rising another degree Celsius by 2100. There are several steps you can take at your home or business today that will not only save money but also make an impact globally!  It’s time we all looked into what new technologies exist and start implementing them where possible so that we may contribute toward these goals.

The post The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and Efficiency first appeared on Tekrati and is written by alamin1321


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button